Sun and Balance Award

The Sun and Balance Award is the highest honor offered by the Rensselaer Newman Foundation to those who support the work of the Church at Rensselaer.

The award takes its name from the seal of the Rensselaer Newman Foundation: the sun represents God and the balance, justice and righteousness. The motto of the Foundation is inscribed around the seal: “God is the Measure of All Things.” Sun and Balance Award recipients receive a medallion-sized reproduction of this seal, a formal declaration of appreciation from the Board President, and have their names permanently inscribed on a plaque in the Main Auditorium.

The Sun and Balance award was originally given intermittently to an outstanding RPI teacher and mentor, as chosen by RPI students. In 1979, the focus of the award was shifted to recognize those who had significantly supported the work of the church at Rensselaer. Since that time, the Sun and Balance Award has been given each year at the Committee of 100 Dinner, our annual gathering to recognize those supporters who have made our work possible.

A list of individuals so honored follows:

  • 2016: William Webster
  • 2015: Richard Hartt
  • 2014: James J. Ljunglin
  • 2013: Michael J. McCabe and Frederick E. Gallo, Jr.
  • 2012: Rosanne M. Rose and Lawrence Mitter
  • 2011: Megan Fannon and Nicholas J. Wengrenovich
  • 2010: Michael F. Diacovo
  • 2009: Teresa, James and Christopher Brennan
  • 2008: William Drunsic and Peter Levatich(awarded posthumously)
  • 2007: Frances and James Hyde and Family
  • 2006: Kathleen and Edward Spain
  • 2005: Matthew Kosara, Rebecca Lamb
  • 2004: John A. Malitoris
  • 2003: Nathan Robert Walsh
  • 2002: David Marvin Orlep (awarded posthumously)
  • 2001: Rev. Thomas Phelan
  • 2000: Alice and William McLoughlin
  • 1999: Mairin and Patrick Quinn
  • 1998: Robert C. Thayer
  • 1997: Ruth Ellen and R. Byron Pipes
  • 1996: Richard C. Tantillo
  • 1995: Suzanne F. Gutmann
  • 1994: Anne and Jonathan Cassidy
  • 1993: Frederica Z. Meindl
  • 1992: David S. Haviland
  • 1991: Michael C. Duffy
  • 1990: Carl Engstrom, Arthur Gajarsa
  • 1989: Rev. Gary B. Gelfenbien
  • 1988: Bishop Howard Hubbard
  • 1987: Constance B. Murray
  • 1986: Sarah Catlin
  • 1985: John and Mary K. Ryan
  • 1984: Robert W. Petricca
  • 1983: Paul J. Catan, Jr.
  • 1982: M. Elizabeth and Stephen E. Wiberley
  • 1981: McCarthy Family of Troy
  • 1980: Ellis Robison
  • 1979: Msgr. William M. Slavin, John Millet
  • 1976: Eric Beltz
  • 1972: A. Bruce Carlson
  • 1968: Joseph Smith